Team Physiopathology of Striated Muscle

Head: Ana Ferreiro (DR INSERM)

We conduct multidisciplinary research (basic, pathophysiological and translational) on congenital myopathies and myofibrillar myopathies, inherited rare diseases of skeletal muscles which present with muscle weakness leading to walking difficulties or impossibility. Some forms are associated with respiratory or heart failure which cause premature death. No treatment is currently available. Our goal is understanding the mechanisms leading from the genetic defects to the phenotypical consequences in patients, to identify defective pathways representing potential therapeutic targets and thus develop pathophysiology-based pharmacological therapies.

Team members are at the origin of the description and identification of the genetic basis of several forms of myopathies (mutations in DES, CRYAB, SEPN1, RYR1, TTN, TRIP4). Our work has also led to the identification of the first pathophysiology-based therapeutic drugs in vitro and ex vivo (Arbogast S et al, Ann Neurol 2009 ; Dowling JJ et al, Brain 2012 (in collaboration with Dr JJ Dowling, US) ; Segard B et al, PLoS One 2013). These studies are the bases of the first clinical trials for these currently-untreatable rare conditions (http://clinicaltrials.gov/ct2/show/…).

We use a multidisciplinary combination of clinical, animal, molecular, cellular and pharmacological approaches which gives as an internationally leading position at the interface between basic and clinical research and allows us to cover all the aspects of translational and therapeutic research ‘from bedside to bench and back’

Our two axes of research include 5 main projects:

Physiopathological mechanisms associated with cytosolic or nuclear intermediate filaments and their partner proteins in myopathies:

Desmin-related myopathies (desminopathies): Patrick VICART, Sabrina PICHON, Alain LILIENBAUM, Eva CABET, Florence DELORT, Coralie HAKIBILEN.

Myopathies related to nuclear proteins: Brigitte BUENDIA and Nathalie VADROT.

Congenital Myopathies:

SEPN1-related myopathies: Ana FERREIRO, Anne FILIPPE, Maryline MOULIN, Nathalie VADROT,
Swati DUDHAL.

ASC-1 related myopathy (TRIP4): Ana FERREIRO, Isabelle DUBAND-GOULET, Eva CABET, Alain LILIENBAUM.

TTN-related myopathies: Ana FERREIRO.

see detailed topics and projects

Équipe Physiopathologie du Muscle Strié

Responsable : Ana Ferreiro (DR INSERM)

Notre équipe effectue des projets de recherche multidisciplinaire (fondamentale, physiopathologique et translationnelle) sur les myopathies congénitales et les myopathies myofibrillaires, maladies héréditaires des muscles squelettiques qui provoquent une faiblesse musculaire, une difficulté ou impossibilité pour la marche et, dans certains cas, une atteinte respiratoire ou cardiaque qui peut être mortelle. Notre objectif est de comprendre les mécanismes moléculaires et cellulaires impliqués et d’identifier des voies physiopathologiques altérées représentant des cibles thérapeutiques potentielles afin de développer de nouvelles thérapies pharmacologiques pour ces maladies actuellement sans traitement.

Les membres de l’équipe ont été à l’origine de la description et l’identification des bases génétiques de plusieurs formes de maladie musculaire (mutations des gènes DES, CRYAB, SEPN1, RYR1, TTN, TRIP4) et de l’identification des premières thérapies, basées sur la physiopathologie, in vitro et ex vivo (Arbogast S et al, Ann Neurol 2009 ; Dowling JJ et al, Brain 2012 (in collaboration with Dr JJ Dowling, US) ; Segard B et al, PLoS One 2013). Certains de ces travaux ont abouti à la mise en place des premiers essais thérapeutiques pour ces maladies rares incurables à présent (http://clinicaltrials.gov/ct2/show/NCT02505087). Nous avons mis au point et utilisé une combinaison pluridisciplinaire d’études cliniques, modèles animaux et approches moléculaires, cellulaires et biomécaniques nous permettant une transversalité ‘from bedside to bench and back’.

Notre équipe est rattachée à l’école doctorale BioSorbonneParisCité (Bio-SPC) et accueille régulièrement des étudiants du M2 BC2T, parcours génome et destin cellulaire (http://sabrinapichon.wix.com/genome).

Cinq thématiques principales réparties dans deux axes sont abordées au laboratoire.

Mécanismes physiopathologiques associés aux filaments intermédiaires cytosoliques ou nucléaires et leurs protéines partenaires dans les myopathies:

Desmin-related myopathies (desminopathies) : Patrick VICART, Sabrina PICHON, Alain LILIENBAUM, Eva CABET, Florence DELORT, Coralie HAKIBILEN.

Myopathies liées aux protéines nucléaires : Brigitte BUENDIA et Nathalie VADROT

Myopathies Congénitales :

SEPN1-related myopathies : Ana FERREIRO, Anne FILIPPE, Maryline MOULIN, Nathalie VADROT,
Swati DUDHAL

ASC-1 related myopathy (TRIP4) : Ana FERREIRO, Isabelle DUBAND-GOULET, Eva CABET, Alain LILIENBAUM

TTN-related myopathies : Ana FERREIRO

voir thématique détaillée et projets