Molecular and Cell Responses to Xenobiotics Team (RMCX)

Head: Jean-Marie Dupret (PR P7)

The team’s general subject is the adaptation and vulnerability of the human organism to abiotic environmental factors. The disorders studied concern mainly exposure to xenobiotics of anthropic origin, particularly those associated with the atmospheric environment (atmospheric particles, nanoparticles, aromatic compounds, heavy metals, etc.).

The effects induced by these exposures are investigated both at cellular and molecular levels. Adaptive or pathological responses as well as xenobiotic biotransformation are considered. These mechanisms may contribute to pathological processes such as inflammatory respiratory diseases or cancers.

This research is carried out by two groups who work together very closely. Three topics are addressed.

1. Responses of human respiratory epithelium to particle-induced environmental stress (Armelle Baeza (manager), Francelyne Marano, Pascal Roussel, Valentina Sirri-Roussel, Sonja Boland).
Cellular mechanisms of internalization and translocation of particles are studied as well as their short and long term effects on repair and protection functions of the epithelial barrier and its differentiation. The toxicity of fine and ultrafine (nanomaterials) particles is evaluated with respect to their physicochemical properties, in particular through their oxidative properties.

2. Metabolic and toxicological enzymology (Jean-Marie Dupret (manager), Fernando Rodrigues-Lima (manager), Florent Busi, Linh-Chi Bui, Emile Petit).
Structure-function relationships of xenobiotic metabolizing enzymes are investigated with a focus on arylamine N-acetyltransferases. The team is also interested in studying the alteration of key enzymatic pathways (energy metabolism, epigenetic writers) by xenobiotics (pesticides, leukemogen chemicals).

3. Development of technical approaches (enzyme assays, detection and characterization of molecules) dedicated to issues in toxicology and ecotoxicology and valorization of the Bioprofiler technical facility of the Metabolism platform of the BFA Unit.

see detailed topics and projects

Équipe Réponses Moléculaires et Cellulaires aux Xénobiotiques (RMCX)

Responsable : Jean-Marie Dupret (PR P7)

La thématique générale de l’équipe concerne l’adaptation et la vulnérabilité de l’organisme humain aux facteurs environnementaux abiotiques. Les perturbations étudiées se rapportent principalement à l’exposition aux xénobiotiques d’origine anthropique et, en particulier, à ceux présents dans l’atmosphère (particules atmosphériques, nanoparticules, composés aromatiques, métaux lourds).

Les effets induits par ces expositions sont envisagés tant au niveau cellulaire que moléculaire. Les réponses, adaptatives ou pathologiques, ainsi que la biotransformation des xénobiotiques sont étudiées. Ces mécanismes peuvent contribuer à des processus pathologiques tels que des maladies respiratoires d’origine inflammatoire et des cancers.

Ces recherches sont développées par deux groupes qui travaillent en étroite complémentarité. Trois thématiques sont abordées :

1. Réponses de l’épithélium respiratoire humain aux stress environnementaux particulaires (Armelle Baeza (resp.), Francelyne Marano, Pascal Roussel, Valentina Sirri-Roussel, Sonja Boland).
Les mécanismes cellulaires d’internalisation et de translocation des particules sont étudiés ainsi que leur impact à court et long termes sur les fonctions de protection et de réparation de la barrière épithéliale et de sa différenciation. La toxicité des particules fines et ultrafines (nanomatériaux) est évaluée en particulier au travers de la mesure de leurs propriétés oxydantes.

2. Enzymologie métabolique et toxicologique (Jean-Marie Dupret (resp.), Fernando Rodrigues-Lima (resp.), Florent Busi, Linh-Chi Bui, Emile Petit).
Les relations structure-fonction des enzymes du métabolisme des xénobiotiques sont étudiées et en particulier celles des arylamine N-acétyltransférases. L’équipe s’intéresse également aux altérations par les xénobiotiques (pesticides, leucémogènes chimiques) de voies enzymatiques majeures impliquées dans le métabolisme énergétique ou certains processus épigénétiques.

3. Développement d’approches techniques (dosages enzymatiques, détection et caractérisation de molécules) dédiées à des problématiques de toxicologie et d’écotoxicologie et valorisation du plateau Bioprofiler de la plateforme Métabolisme de l’Unité.

voir thématique détaillée et projets