Team 7: Degenerative Processes, Stress and Ageing

Head: Hervé Tricoire (DR CNRS)

Our team is interested in the degenerative processes involved in the ageing of the organism and in various degenerative pathologies in humans. Our main objective is to identify genetic mechanisms to modulate these processes and, on this basis, to identify potential therapeutic interventions. In these studies, we use invertebrate model organisms (Drosophila flies, Drosophila melanogaster) or mammals (mice, Mus musculus), as well as cellular approaches. The following three main themes are developed:

1) Analysis of the different phases involved in ageing and the molecular processes underlying each phase (PI: M. Rera)

2) The analysis of neurodegenerative and cardiac pathologies linked to triplet expansions (Polyglutamine Expansion Diseases – Huntington’s disease, SCA3 – and Freidreich’s Ataxia) and the search for new therapeutic strategies (PIs: E. Martin and V. Monnier).

3) Analysis of the implication of metabolic pathologies in neurodegenerative diseases for the search for biomarkers and new therapeutic strategies (PIs: N. Janel and S. Middendorp).
Complementary methodologies (genetics, genomics, transgenesis and functional and behavioral analysis, etc.) are used in these various projects which are developed with national collaborators through European programs.

see detailed topics and projects

Equipe 7: Processus Dégénératifs, Stress et Vieillissement

Responsable: Hervé Tricoire (DR CNRS)

Notre équipe s’intéresse aux processus dégénératifs impliqués dans le vieillissement de l’organisme et dans différentes pathologies dégénératives chez l’homme. Notre objectif principal est d’identifier des mécanismes génétiques permettant de moduler ces processus et, sur cette base, d’identifier de potentielles interventions thérapeutiques. Nous utilisons dans ces études des organismes modèles invertébrés (la mouche Drosophile, Drosophila melanogaster) ou mammifères (la souris Mus musculus), ainsi que des approches cellulaires. Les trois thématiques suivantes sont développées:

1) L’analyse des différentes phases impliquées dans le vieillissement et des processus moléculaires sous-jacent à chaque phase (Responsable : M. Rera)

2) L’analyse de pathologies neurodégénératives et cardiaques liées à des expansions de triplets (Maladies à expansion de polyglutamine (maladie de Huntington, SCA3) et Ataxie de Freidreich) et la recherche de nouvelles stratégies thérapeutiques (Responsables : E. Martin et V. Monnier).

3) L’analyse de l’implication de pathologies métaboliques dans les maladies neurodégénératives pour la recherche de biomarqueurs et de nouvelles stratégies thérapeutiques (Responsables : N. Janel et S. Middendorp).

Des méthodologies complémentaires (génétique, génomique, transgénèse et analyse fonctionnelle et comportementale, etc.) sont utilisées dans ces différents projets qui sont développés avec des collaborateurs nationaux et au sein de programmes européens.

voir thématiques détaillées et projets